USC University of Southern California

Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC

Research Faculty

Ruchi Bajpai, PhD
Assistant Professor
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-1220
Email: rbajpai@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Yang Chai, DDS, PhD
Associate Dean of Research
Director, Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-3480
Email: ychai@usc.edu
Lab: chailab.usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Casey Chen, BDS, DDS, PhD
Professor
Chair, Division of Periodontology, Diagnostic Sciences and Dental Hygiene
Phone: (213) 740-1075
Email: ccchen@usc.edu

Research Focus: Clinical and didactic teachings in periodontology and basic science research in microbial pathogenesis.

Jianfu Chen, PhD
Assistant Professor
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-2062
Email: jianfu@usc.edu
Lab: chenlab.usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Baruch Frenkel, DMD, PhD
Professor
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-1322
Email: frenkel@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Jingyuan Li, DDS, PhD
Assistant Professor
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-3191
Email: jingyual@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Tina Jaskoll, PhD
Professor
Co-Director, Laboratory for Developmental Genetics
Division of Biomedical Sciences
Phone: (213) 740-1400
Email: tjaskoll@usc.edu

Research Focus: Viral-induced cancer, plant-based therapeutics for salivary gland cancer.

Michael Melnick, DDS, PhD
Professor
Co-Director, Laboratory for Developmental Genetics
Division of Biomedical Sciences
Phone: (213) 740-1417
Email: mmelnick@usc.edu

Research Focus: Lab studies plant-based therapeutics for salivary cancer.

Amy Merrill-Brugger, PhD
Assistant Professor
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-1147
Email: amerrill@usc.edu
Lab: merrill.usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Janet Moradian-Oldak, MSc, PhD
Professor
Division of Biomedical Sciences
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-1759
Email: joldak@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Michael Paine, BDS, PhD
Professor
Director, Craniofacial Biology Graduate Program
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-2981
Email: paine@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Pedro Sanchez, MD
Assistant Professor of Clinical Pathology and Pediatrics
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 361-2178
Email: pasanchez@chla.usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Parish P. Sedghizadeh, DDS, MS
Associate Professor of Clinical Dentistry
Director, Research for Biofilms Laboratory
Program Director, Oral Pathology and Radiology
Division of Periodontology, Diagnostic Sciences and Dental Hygiene
Phone: (213) 740-2704
Email: sedghiza@usc.edu

Research Focus: Characterization and treatment of oral microbial biofilm infections, particularly jaw osteomyelitis and osteonecrosis, where he has developed novel bone-targeting therapeutics.

Malcolm Snead, DDS, PhD
Professor, Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Division Chair, Division of Biomedical Sciences
Phone: (323) 442-3178
Email: mlsnead@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Mark Urata, MD, DDS, FACS, FAAP
Division Chair, Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-6229
Email: murata@chla.usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Jian Xu, PhD
Assistant Professor
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-4835
Email: xujian@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Stephen Yen, DMD, PhD
Associate Professor 
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-1747
Email: syen@usc.edu
Faculty Profile

Homayoun H. Zadeh, DDS, PhD
Associate Professor
Program Director, Advanced Education in Periodontology
Division of Periodontology, Diagnostic Sciences and Dental Hygiene
Phone: (213) 740-1415
Email: zadeh@usc.edu

Research Focus: Director of the Laboratory for Immunoregulation and Tissue Engineering (LITE) that studies basic mechanisms to regulate bone and tissue regeneration/destruction under health/disease states.

John Zhong, PhD
Assistant Professor
Division of Periodontology, Diagnostic Sciences and Dental Hygiene
Division of Biomedical Sciences
Phone: (213) 740-0085
Email: jzhong@usc.edu

Research Focus: Single-cell molecular analysis with microfluidic technology, single-cell technology for cancer treatment, investigating the molecular foundation of treatment resistance in cancer.

Yan Zhou, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology
Phone: (323) 442-2573
Email: yzhou@usc.edu
Faculty Profile