USC University of Southern California

Part-Time and Volunteer Faculty Members Recognized

Dean Avishai Sadan (fifth from left) with the evening’s faculty honorees.

By Beth Newcomb

Ostrow School of Dentistry part-time and volunteer faculty members were honored with a dinner and awards ceremony on May 29.

Held at the Jonathan Club in downtown Los Angeles, the event celebrated years of service milestones as well as service awards for outstanding part-time and volunteer faculty in each of the school’s divisions. In addition, individuals who had obtained the most Ostrow continuing education credits over the past year were honored with the Lifelong Learner Award.

“All of our part-time faculty members play vital roles in the education of our students, the care of our patients, and the operation and growth of our school,” said Ostrow Dean Avishai Sadan in his remarks to the faculty attendees. “It is no exaggeration to say that without your service we could not succeed in our mission to educate some of the best dental professionals in the world.”

Ralph Allman '57, DDS '62, ORTHO '66 was recognized for 50 years of service to the Ostrow School of Dentistry.
Ralph Allman ’57, DDS ’62, ORTHO ’66 was recognized for 50 years of service to the Ostrow School of Dentistry.

Years of Service Milestones

50 Years

Ralph Allman

40 Years

Karen Refkin

Paul Reggiardo

35 Years

C. Michael Bowers

Robert Memsic

Leonard Schusterman

Oscar Valente

30 Years

Lily Cabellon

Terry Tanaka

25 Years

Samir Batniji

Carl Mossberg

20 Years

Terrie De Bord

Samuel Oglesby

Lillian Salis

Jae Sung

Thomas Tate

Robert Valdez

15 Years

David Datu

John Guijon

Michaela Nguyen

Krikor Simonian

Charles Wood

10 Years

David Bomar

Linda Brookman

Justin Do

David Kelliny

Ramin Mahallati

Joel McPherson

Roy Mintzer

Clifford Munce

David Okawachi

Richard Phillips. Jr.

Lisa Popkoff

Mohammad Sabeti

Daniel Schechter

Harel Simon

Gary Tang

Zaw Tun

Leon Unterman

Eugene Zakaryan

5 Years

Chi Bui

Juan Camarena

David Carsten

Deann Chan

Eduardo Correa

John De Lorme

Antone Fernandes

Jeffrey Hammoudeh

Gary Harmatz

Karilyn House

Malia Johnson

Steven Kallman

David Kang

Alina Krivitsky

Melvin Kum

Kathleen Lim

Jonathan Lo

Senovita Lopez

Joseph Mercardante

Lawrence Michel

Amanda Okundaye

Mark Pak

Danielle Parker

Joseph Renzi

Ronald Scoville

Chun-Tin (Jill) Shang

Ivan Shnorhokian

Flora Stay

Wei Chen (Alex) Tu

Mark Urata

Mikelle Watson

Samuel Wu

Jeong Won (Jenny) Yu

Division Awards

Dental Public Health and Pediatric Dentistry

Pauline Tran

Periodontology, Diagnostic Sciences and Dental Hygiene

Gerald Drury

Lisa Popkoff

Fabiana Varjao

David Levine

Richard Borquez

Jack Broussard

Endodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery & Orthodontics

Zaw Tun

Restorative Sciences

Gabriela Anderson

Anita Tourah

Arman Torbati

Christopher Truhan

Biomedical Sciences

Wei Shi

USC Dentistry Lifelong Learner Awards

D. Young Pham

Marine Martirosyan

Adonis Mungcal