USC University of Southern California

Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC

Part-Time Faculty Honored at Annual Awards Dinner

On May 25, 2011, the Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC hosted its part-time and volunteer faculty members at the Annual Part Time Faculty Awards Banquet.

Recognitions for years of service milestones, contributions in the five divisions of the School, and recognition of lifelong learners took place following dinner at the USC University Club.

In his opening remarks, Dean Avishai Sadan thanked the faculty members for their hard work and advocacy on behalf of the Ostrow School of Dentistry.

“You are the individuals behind so much of what we accomplish: educating future clinicians, caring for thousands of patients each year, and maintaining our position as one of the best dental schools in the world,” he said. “We are successful within and beyond this School only because of your work and input.”

Division Awards

Dental Public Health And Pediatric Dentistry
Michael Glass

Periodontology, Diagnostic Sciences And Dental Hygiene
Marinele De Campos
Marlene Talley

Endodontics, Oral And Maxillofacial Surgery, And Orthodontics
Tota Shimizu
Ivan Shnorhokian

Restorative Sciences
Gabriela Anderson
Vartuhi Avanesian
Albert Mizrahi
Chris Truhan
Leon Unterman

Biomedical Sciences
Gail Stewart

USC Dentistry Life-Long Learner Awards
Misty Black
Randall Joseph Teich
Omid Vatan

Years Of Service Milestones

5 Years 
Gihan Anthony
Richard Borquez
Karen Burgoyne
Theodore Burnett
Eric Cho
Beanca Chu
Fariborz Farnad
Cheryl Goldasich
Kevin Hszieh
Lynn Knapp-Finn
James Mah
Neal Murphy
Manuel Nguyen
Daniel Schechter
Ann Spolarich
Charles Tatosian
Hongsheng Tong
Jettie Uyanne
Mark Whalen
Arthur Womack, Jr.
Mark Yamamoto

10 Years 
Vartuhi Avanesian
Yossi Bar-Zion
John Chao
Frederick Davidowitz
Douglas Gilio
Ahmad Sadeghein

15 Years 
Alfred Friedman
Ellen Grady
Jack Nishimoto
Lisa Oshiro
Gail Stewart

20 Years 
Jo Ann Hirose
Kim Hiroshige-Okumura
James Mcandrews
Kent Ochiai

25 Years 
Saijai Peng

30 Years 
Barbara Edwards

35 Years 
Frank Enriquez
Terry Loeffler

40 Years 
Dell Aldrich