USC University of Southern California

Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC

Five New Members Inducted Into Hall of Fame

The Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC has honored five faculty members with induction into the School’s prestigious Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony and reception on November 19, held in the Town and Gown event hall on the University Park Campus, lauded each for their important contributions to dentistry and their legacy at the Ostrow School of Dentistry.

“It is no exaggeration to say that a large part of the reason our School is so great today is because we have been continually standing on the shoulders of giants for decades,” said Ostrow School of Dentistry Dean Avishai Sadan.

“The five individuals joining the ranks of our Hall of Fame today are experts in varied specialties, but they all have in common the talent for being excellent educators, serving as caring mentors, and helping our students prepare for and begin their careers with confidence and unparalleled skills.”

The five new inductees include pioneering orthodontist Harry Dougherty; restorative sciences leader Richard Kahn; removable prosthodontics educator and author Bernard Levin; renowned dental hygienist and researcher Anna Pattison, and organized dentistry leader and mentor Lawrence Warner.

The Ostrow School of Dentistry Hall of Fame was established in 1975 to recognize Ostrow School of Dentistry graduates who have made extraordinary contributions to the art and science of dentistry through scholarly research, teaching, professional leadership, and/or development of treatment techniques that advance dental science. Individuals who have not graduated from USC have also been inducted into the Hall of Fame by virtue of their extraordinary service to the Ostrow School of Dentistry and to the profession.

With the addition of Harry Dougherty, Richard Kahn, Bernard Levin, Anna Pattison and Lawrence Warner, 30 educators, scholars and clinicians are represented by bronze plaques located in the patient reception lobby of the Norris Dental Science Center:

Spencer R. Atkinson, Southern Dental College 1917
Raphael L. Bowen, USC 1953
Gordon Christensen, USC 1960
Harry L. Dougherty, University of California, San Francisco 1957
Clifton Dummett, Northwestern University 1941
Harold F. Eissmann, USC 1957
Dudley H. Glick, USC 1953
Charles Goldstein, University of California, San Francisco 1944
Guy C. Ho, USC 1940
Floyde E. Hogeboom, USC 1919
George M. Hollenback, Kansas City Dental College 1912
John I. Ingle, Northwestern University 1942
Rex Ingraham, USC 1941
Ernest M. Jones, University of Tennessee 1949
Richard L. Kahn, USC 1964
Bernard Levin, University of Illinois 1947, USC 1964
Beverly B. McCollum, USC 1907
Wilma E. Motley, USC 1933
Fred B. Olds, USC 1924
Anna M. Pattison, USC 1967
Charles L. Pincus, USC 1926
Harry R. Potter, University of Nebraska, Lincoln 1964
Earl Pound, USC 1923
Ruth Hines Ragland, USC 1967
Marsh Robinson, USC 1942
Donald E. Smith, State University of Iowa 1915
Harvey Stallard, University of Illinois 1920
Charles E. Stuart, USC 1924
Peter K. Thomas, USC 1939
Lawrence J. Warner, USC 1958