USC University of Southern California

Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC

New Members of Omicron Kappa Upsilon Honor Society Inducted

Twenty-two members of the Ostrow School of Dentistry DDS class of 2011 were welcomed into the Zeta chapter of the Omicron Kappa Upsilon dental honor society at a banquet on May 9.

Along with the recognition of new inductees, who represent the top 12 percent of the graduating class, three Ostrow faculty members were inducted into OKU, and the winners of seven scholarships were announced.

Dean Avishai Sadan gave opening remarks, noting that induction into OKU is an “extremely unique distinction.”

“It means that you are the top students at one of the top dental schools in the world,” he said. “You are, very literally, the best of the best.”

This year’s keynote speaker was Steven Sobel, retired associate professor of clinical dentistry and former OKU Zeta Chapter president, who spoke of the importance of leading by example.

“In every interaction we have, we are teaching and setting examples for others,” he said. “We are all teachers, all the time.”

Class of 2011 OKU Zeta Chapter Inductees

Behzad Rajaei
Esther Moon
Hany Youssef
Joseph Yu
Niel Oishi
Oden Waite
Paul Lee
Shalini Kalia
Steve Lim
Steven Chang
Wilson Lee
Bridgette Sabat
Christopher Luevano
Heather Russell
Kevin Yen
Mi Young Kim
Nima Mirmoghtadaei
Richard Waddell
Sree Laxmi Garlapati
Stephen Rupert
Thu Mai
Yee Hung

2011 OKU Faculty Inductees

Abdi Sameni, DDS
Robert Gerber, DDS
Jane Forrest, RDH, EdD

2011 OKU Scholarship Winners

John (Jack) Sundbye Memorial Scholar
Hema Kishore Chapala


Donald C. Curnette Memorial Scholar
Nima Mirmoghtadaei

Everett Payne Memorial Scholar
Esther Moon

Charles S. O’Grady Memorial Scholar
Taylor Berry

Robert Wallin Memorial Scholar
Chandler Ho

Dexter Smith Memorial Scholar
Andrew Kiss

OKU- Zeta Chapter Scholar – 2nd year
Peter Byung Chan Lee